How to Succeed Starting from Nothing

Here’s how I’d start if nobody knew who I was.

read time 3 minutes.

Welcome to The Growth Innovator. Exclusive content where I showcase how to start, grow, and monetize a 1-person online business through organic content in 2024.

Today’s Email:

  • Build in Public

  • Post Your Bold Opinions

  • Educate, Entertain, and Inspire

  • Collaborate (a lot)

  • Promoting vs. Selling

  • TL;DR

Alright, Let’s Innovate:

Self-promotion is quite a popular topic in the creator world.

If you’re not promoting yourself every day on social media, you’re missing out on:

  • Growing your network.

  • Getting new followers.

  • Building a name for yourself.

Personal brands are the future of online content.

Remember, promoting yourself online and your products/services are entirely different.

When I started my social media business, I had no idea what to post, where to post, you name it.

I wasn’t 100% sure if I should put my face online every day. But I did anyway.

In 2024, I’ve built a personal brand, and I can help thousands of creators develop their brands and businesses every month.

Here’s what I’d do if I started today and nobody knew me:

Build in Public

Don’t only post analytics, finished products, you name it.

People want to see the journey:

  • The rough patches.

  • The failures.

  • The success.

  • The drafts.

  • The long nights.

The list goes on.

Show the reality of what it looks like when building your business online.

This will make you 100 more interesting to follow.

Post Your Bold Opinions

This is one of my favorite topics to post about.

You are just like everyone else if you consistently post safe opinions daily.

People love drama. Differentness. Entertainment.

Showcase your weird or strange opinions on controversial topics (especially topics that tie into your business).

Don’t try to be liked by everyone.

That’s impossible.

Educate, Entertain, and Inspire

I keep seeing new creators pop up on my timeline, and they’re just posting things like:

  • “Top 25 AI Tools in 2024.”

  • “Top Creators to Watch on YouTube.”

  • “Best blah blah on LinkedIn.

You get the point.

Occasionally, talking about your process, strategy, and routine is okay.

Otherwise, don’t be like this.

Focus on doing three things with your content:

  • Inspire people.

  • Educate people.

  • Entertain people.

If you can do all three of these, you’ll be an exciting creator to follow.

Collaborate (a lot)

I’m a massive advocate for collaborating on LinkedIn.

You’ll see this from me often.

Imagine this:

  • Two creators.

  • Two audiences.

  • One post.

Both you and the person you collaborate with will receive engagement from each audience. You’re essentially getting a ton of new eyes on your brand.

Win-win.

Look at how many collaborations happen in the music industry. The movie industry. You name it.

Take inspiration from what’s working and double down on it.

Promoting vs. Selling

There’s a significant difference.

Promoting yourself daily puts your face in people’s heads.
Promoting your products/services helps you sell more.

See the difference?

The goal is to do both, but don’t promote and sell to the same people 24/7.

For example, I’ll schedule calls with creators entirely outside my niche.

Why?

This opens up a new audience to my content, opinions, and brand.

Engaging and talking to the same people repeatedly will make expanding your business much harder.

Get adventurous and put yourself out there.

Want to Keep Going?

If you are ready to grow a massive audience on LinkedIn while selling digital products, consider checking out The Growth OS.

This 90-minute course will help you develop hundreds of content ideas, create organic content that consistently gets you new leads from social media, build a system to develop weekly newsletter content, utilize templates for growth, gain daily subscribers/followers, and run through building your personalized website.

TL;DR:

Now that you’ve gone through the full post, here’s what to do next:

  1. Post your journey, progress, and behind-the-scenes.

  2. Focus on educating, entertaining, and inspiring.

  3. Don’t be shy and post your bold opinions.

  4. Collaborate with other creators often.

  5. Promote yourself daily.

  6. Sell your offers often.

  7. Capitalize on what’s working and fix what isn’t.

I’ll see you next Wednesday!

Cheers,

Alex

Reply

or to participate.